Instructions & Guidelines
Create version & publish
How to create new version?
Every created add-on must have a version. Versioning add-ons helps you create and improve add-on’s functionality easily and gradually without causing inconvenience to your users.
In order to create a new version, at least one version of an add-on needs to be published. Learn more about how to create add-on’s first version here.
First version will be automatically created as version 1.0.0. For each new request, you need to manually add the version number. Version number should reflect complexity of the functionalities with major version being marked as e.g. 1.1.0 and minor version as e.g. 1.0.1. Also, keep in mind that version numbers should be marked in a logical progression, e.g. 2.0.0 version cannot be followed by version 1.5.0.
Creating new version is a three-step process similar to the one used to create an add-on.
However, when creating new version, add-on name and icon in the Basic information page are generated from the published version, but can be edited. Steps two and three are the same.
Which status can version request have?
Based on its lifecycle stage, status of add-on’s version request can be:
Version request is in draft if you haven’t completed all the steps when creating an add-on, but you saved information you entered by clicking the Save as draft button.
When you submit the version for a review, its status is updated to Pending. After review, the version can be approved or declined with status changing accordingly.
After your version is reviewed, it can be approved or declined. If your version is declined, along with that information, you will also get an explanation on why. You can edit the declined version based on this feedback and submit it for a review again.
An approved version is approved by our team. It goes further into the publishing cycle and is ready to be published.
This is the final step in the publishing cycle. Once the version is approved, it can be published and when published it becomes available in the marketplace for everyone to use.
After you published one add-on version, you can proceed by creating a new one.
Once your add-on (first, or any subsequent version) has been published on the CAKE.com Marketplace, you’ll receive a confirmation email saying that your add-on version has been successfully published.
If an add-on is already in the marketplace, once its new version request is published, the existing published version immediately becomes outdated.
If a newer version is published, the existing one becomes automatically deprecated and outdated.
This status is added to the published version that has been removed from the marketplace and can’t be used or installed by new users. However, those who use the unlisted version can still see and use it.